The Regional Steering Committee (RSC) provides overall guidance and oversight for the project. The RSC is the decision making body of the project and has been involved in ACE II from the preparation stage. It comprises of representatives from participating countries, academics and representatives from regional bodies and the private sector. The RSC discussed and approved the five priority cluster areas for ACE II to address regional development challenges. It also selected the IUCEA as the RFU for ACE II. The RSC approved the Call for Proposals and made the conditional selection of the 24 Centers of Excellence (ACEs) based on the recommendations of the technical evaluation conducted by the Independent Evaluation Committee (IEC). During the implementation phase, the main task of the RSC will be to provide oversight and guidance to the project, to ensure that the ACEs are working towards achieving the Project Development Objective, and to help unblock any obstacles in implementation.  


RSC Members:

Meet The Team

Dr. Zerihun Kebede

Director General, Higher Education Research and Academic Affairs, Ministry of Education, Ethiopia

Dr. Florah Karimi.

CEO for University Education, Ministry of Education, Kenya.

Dr. Samson MacJessie-Mbewe

Director of Higher Education, Science and Technology, Malawi

Dr. Manuel Bazo

Deputy Director for Coordination of Higher Education, MoSTESTP, Mozambique

Eng. Mike Hughes,

Advisor of Science, Technology and Innovation, Government of Rwanda

Prof. Sylvia Temu,

Director of Higher Education and Vocational Training, Ministry of Education and Vocational Training, Tanzania

Mr. Robert Odok Oceng,

Commissioner for Higher Education, Ministry of Education, Uganda.


Director, Science and Technology, Ministry of Higher Education, Zambia.

Prof. Charles Chiedza Maponga,

Technical Director for National Nanotechnology Programme, Ministry of Higher and Tertiary Education, Science and Technology Development, Zimbabwe.

East African Community


Prof. Wole Soboyejo,

President and Provost, African University of Science and Technology Professor, Princeton University.

Prof. Goolam Hussein Mohamedbhai,

Former President of Association of African Universities

Dr. Appiah Kwadwo Ampofo

Founder, KATA Solar Co-Founder, The African Network, Inc

Call for Applications for MSc and PhD programmes at Mbarara University of Science & Technology 

1 August 2017

The Africa Center of Excellence for Pharm-Biotechnology and Traditional Medicine (PHARMBIOTRAC) is based at the Mbarara University of Science & Technology (MUST), a public university based in western Uganda and about 260km from the capital city, Kampala. PHARMBIOTRAC is pleased to invite applications from highly motivated, talented, research focused and qualified candidates for admission in MSc (by Coursework and Dissertation) and PhD (by Research) in Pharm biotechnology and Traditional Medicine for the academic year 2017/18. Scholarship opportunities are available on a competitive basis to eligible Africans..Read More

Contact us

Inter-University Council for East Africa
Plot M833, Kigobe Road
Kyambogo, Kampala, Uganda

P.O.Box 7110, Kampala, Uganda

Tel: (+256) 414256251/2

Fax: (+256) 414342007

adidas eqt turbo red collection adidas eqt 93 17 boost turbo red release info adidas eqt support 93 17 white turbo red where to buy the adidas eqt support 9317 turbo red adidas eqt support 9317 white turbo red adidas eqt boost 93 17 white turbo red adidas eqt support 9317 whiteturbo red coming soon adidas eqt support 93 17 white turbo red adidas eqt support 93 17 white turbo red adidas eqt support 9317 whiteturbo red adidas eqt support adv primeknit zebra release date adidas eqt support adv primeknit zebra official images adidas eqt support adv primeknit zebra now available adidas eqt support adv primeknit zebra new images adidas eqt support adv primeknit zebra release date where to buy adidas eqt support adv primeknit zebra adidas eqt support adv zebra coming soon adidas originals superstar whitebluered adidas eqt support adv turbo red lands tomorrow adidas eqt turbo red collection