Africa Center of Excellence ACE2

List of Centers of Excellence ACE II 

LIST OF CENTERS OF EXCELLENCE ACE II 

Country

Name of ACE

Institution

Contact Person for ACE

ETHIOPIA

ESC 20 African Centre of Excellence for Climate Smart Agriculture and Biodiversity Conservation (Climate SABC)

Haramaya University

Prof. Mengistu Urge Letta

P O Box 138 Dire Dawa, Ethiopia

Tel: +251255530324

Mob: +251 985216280

urgeletta@yahoo.com

 

ESC 42 Centre for Innovative Drug Development & Therapeutic Trials for Africa (CDT-Africa)

Addis Ababa University

Dr. Abebaw Fekadu

Tel: +251118962052

Mob: +251912894975

abebaw.fekadu@aau.edu.et

 
 

ESC 55 Africa Center of Excellence for Water Management (ACEWM)

Addis Ababa University

Dr. Feleke Zewge

Tel: +251111239466

Mob: +251911236985

feleke.zewge@aau.edu.et/

fbeshah@yahoo.com

 
 

ESC 74 Africa Railway Center of Excellence (ARCE)

Addis Ababa University

Dr. Zewdie Moges

Mob: +251-942-565-090

abrham_gebre@yahoo.com

 
 

KENYA

ESC 02 Centre of Excellence in Sustainable Agriculture & Agribusiness Management (CESAAM)

Egerton University

Prof. George Owuor

P O Box 536-20115 Egerton

Tel: +254(0)512113350

+254 (0)722831634

+254 (0) 512113168

g.owuor@egerton.ac.ke

 

ESC 34 Sustainable Use of Insects as Food and Feeds (INSEFOODS)

Jaramogi Odinga Oginga University of Science & Technology

Dr. Darius Andika

P O Box 210-40601

Bondo, Kenya

Mob: +254721533596

 

oandika@yahoo.co.uk

oandika@jooust.ac.ke

drinsefoods@jooust.ac.ke

 insefoods@jooust.ac.ke

 

ESC 59 Centre of Excellence in Phytochemicals Textiles and Renewable Energy (PTRE)

Moi University

Prof. Ambrose Kiprop

Tel: +254(0)5343363(4)

Mob: +254719241704

ambkiprop@gmail.com

 
 
 

MALAWI

ESC 26 Centre of Excellence for Aquaculture and Fisheries Science (Aquafish)

Lilongwe University of Agriculture & Natural Resources (LUANAR)

Prof. Daud Kassam

Tel: +2651277214

Mob: +265999103246

dkassam@bunda.luanar.mw

 
 
 

ESC 48 Africa Centre of Excellence for Public Health and Herbal Medicine (ACEPHEM)

University of Malawi – Malawi College of Medicine

Prof. Adamson Muula

Tel: +2651871911

Mob: +265884233486

amuula@medcol.mw

 
 

Regional Centre of Excellence in Agricultural Policy Analysis (APA)

Lilongwe University of Agriculture and Natural Resources (LUANAR)

Dr. Beston Maonga

+265(0)881 010 018

bmaonga@luanar.ac.mw

 

Centre of Excellence in Transformative Agriculture Commercialization and Entrepreneurship (TACE).

Lilongwe University of Agriculture and Natural Resources (LUANAR)

Dr. Sera Gondwe

Tel: +265 1 277222

Mobile: +265 992322221

sgondwe@luanar.ac.mw

 

Centre for Resilient Agri-food Systems (CRAFS)

University of Malawi

Dr. Cosmo Ngongondo

sngongondo@unima.ac.mw

 

African Centre of Excellence in Underutilised and Neglected Biodiversity (ACENUB)

Mzuzu University

Prof. Mavuto Tembo

tembo.m@mzuni.ac.mw

MOZAMBIQUE

ESC 111 Center of Studies in Oil and Gas Engineering and Technology (CS-OGET)

Universidade Eduardo Mondlane

Dr Luís Hélder Mendes Lucas

+258 82 6617602

luis.lucas@uemep.uem.mz

lhml2004@hotmail.com

 

Africa Center of Excellence for Food Agricultural Policy and Programs

Universidade Eduardo Mondlane

Prof Rogério Marcos Chiulele

chiulele.rogerio@gmail.com

 +258 86 955 1721

RWANDA

ESC 61 African Centre of Excellence in Energy for Sustainable Development (ACEESD)

University of Rwanda – College of Science & Technology

Dr. Charles Kabiri

Tel: +250252574696

Mob: +250788632090

 chakabiri@googlemail.com

 

ESC 66 African Centre of Excellence in Internet of Things (ACEIoT)

University of Rwanda – College of Science & Technology

Dr. Damien Hanyurwimfura

Mob: +250 787 394 447

hadamfr@gmail.com

 

ESC 82 African Center of Excellence for Teaching and Learning Mathematics and Science (ACEITLMS)

University of Rwanda College of Education

Prof. Lakhan Lal Yadav

+250255115752

Mob: +250788590715

yadavll@yahoo.com

 

ESC 91 African Centre of Excellence for Data Sciences (ACE-DS)

University of Rwanda – College of Business & Economics

Dr. Charles Ruranga

Mob: (+250)788484421

cruranga@gmail.comcruranga@ur.ac.rw  

 
 

TANZANIA

ESC 27 African Centre of Excellence for Innovative Rodent Pest Management & Biosensor Technology Development (IRPM&BTD)

Sokoine University of Agriculture

Office of the Vice Chancellor (VC)

P.O. Box 3000, Chuo Kikuu, Morogoro- Tanzania

Tel. +255 23 2640021  & +255 23 2640015

Prof. Apia W. Massawe

Tel: +255232604621

Mob: +255754314427

apiamas@yahoo.com

massawe@suanet.ac.tz

 

ESC 38 Southern African Centre for Infectious Disease Surveillance (SACIDS)

Sokoine University of Agriculture

Prof. Gerald Misinzo

Tel: +255232604647

Mob: +255767058805

gmisinzo@gmail.com

 
 

ESC 57 Water Infrastructure & Sustainable Energy Centre for the Futures (WISE FUTURES)

Nelson Mandela African Institution of Science & Technology

Dr. Hans Komakech

+255 (0) 764 821 863

hans.komakech@nm-aist.ac.tz

 
 
 

ESC 85 Collaborating Centre for Research, Evidence, Agricultural Advancement & Teaching Excellence & Sustainability (CREATES)

Nelson Mandela African Institution of Science & Technology

Prof. Hulda Shaidi Swai

+255768418317

hulda.swai@nm-aist.ac.tz

huldaswai@gmail.com

 
 

UGANDA

ESC 10 Makerere University Regional Centre for Crop Improvement (MaRCCI)

Makerere University

Dr. Richard Edema

+256-41-4-533580

Mob:+256-79-3-529838
         +256-75-0-589335

redema12@yahoo.com

redema14@gmail.com

redema@caes.mak.ac.ug

 
 
 

ESC 72 Centre of Materials, Product Development & Nanotechnology (MAPRONANO)

Makerere University

Prof. John Baptist Kirabira

Tel: +256414573568

Mob: +256772422738

jbkirabira@cedat.mak.ac.ug

 

ESC 25 African Centre for Agro-ecology & Livelihood Systems (ACALISE)

Uganda Martyrs University

Dr. Jude Ssebuwufu

Tel: +256382410611

Mob: +256774429211

jssebuwufu@umu.ac.ug/

jssebuwufu@yahoo.com

 

ESC 44 Pharm-Biotechnology & Traditional Medicine Centre (PHARMBIOTRAC)

Mbarara University of Science & Technology

Dr. Casim Umba Tolo

Tel: +25648520851

Mob: +256772837055

tolocas@must.ac.ug

 
 
 

ZAMBIA

ESC 39 Africa Centre of Excellence in Infectious Diseases of Humans and Animals (ACEIDHA)

University of Zambia

P.O. Box 32379,

Great East Road,

10101, Lusaka,

Zambia.

Prof. Bernard M. Hang’ombe

+260-977326288

+260211293727

bhangombe@unza.zm 

mudenda68@yahoo.com

 
 
 

ESC 79 The Copperbelt University Africa Centre of Excellence for Sustainable Mining

Copperbelt University

Dr. Mwansa Chabala

Tel: 00260212220721

Mob: +260967754092

mwansachabala@gmail.com